Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane is re-appointed to South Florida Ecosystem Task Force by Fla. Gov. Ron DeSantis.
Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane is re-appointed to South Florida Ecosystem Task Force by Fla. Gov. Ron DeSantis.

Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane has been re-appointed to serve on the South Florida Ecosystem Restoration Task Force by Florida Governor Ron DeSantis.

The task force is comprised of 14 members including federal, tribal, state, and local representatives, to develop policies, strategies, plans, programs, projects, and activities that address the restoration, preservation, and protection of the South Florida ecosystem.

The success of the Everglades restoration will have tremendous economic impact on the coastal communities of South Florida, including Sanibel. Ruane has worked closely with federal and state delegations to advance the Everglades and northern estuaries restoration, specifically the passage of the 2014 Water Resources Reform and Development Act, and to promote projects such as C-43 West Basin Reservoir, Everglades Agriculture Area Reservoir, Kissimmee Restoration, and the Central Everglades Planning Project, that will prove a tremendous asset to the task force.

Ruane was appointed to the Sanibel City Council to serve an interim position for a vacant seat in February 2007. In May 2007, he was elected to a permanent position on the city council. He was re-elected in March 2009, 2013 and 2017 respectively. His peers appointed him as vice mayor for 2009, and mayor in 2010. He is currently in his 10th year as mayor.

Ruane served or is currently serving as council liaison to the Employee Dependent Scholarship Committee, Sanibel Police Officers Pension Board of Trustees, the Sanibel Planning Commission, Redevelopment Project, Audit Committee, Contractors Review Board, liaison to the General Employees' Pension Board, Community Housing Resources and the CHR Coast & Island Community Land Trust. He also served as Council liaison to the Sanibel & Captiva Islands Chamber of Commerce Governmental Affairs Committee.

Additionally, Ruane was appointed to serve on the Florida League of Cities Legislative Policy Committee. He also serves as the Treasurer for the Lee County Metropolitan Planning Organization and is a member of their Executive board.

Ruane has served as council's liaison on the Lee County Tourism Development Council and is a member of the Florida Municipal Pension Trust Fund and the Florida Municipal Loan Council. He was appointed as a board member to the Florida Municipal Insurance Trust in January 2010, serving as Chairman 2011 and was re-appointed in 2017.

He was appointed to the Florida Municipal Insurance Investment Trust in 2011 and currently serves as the vice chair. Ruane is president-elect of the Florida League of Mayors and assumes the presidency in August 2019. He is the voting delegate for the Florida League of Cities, and the liaison for Lee County Mayors.