Local News

CEPD Seeking Candidates; Jensen Resigns After 25 Years

The Captiva Erosion Prevention District has an open seat on its Board of Commissioners following the resignation of Dave Jensen, who served for 25 years, at the June meeting. The CEPD is governed by a board of five volunteer commissioners who are elected in the general election of even numbered years.

Commissioners serve a four year term, if elected, or complete an existing term, if appointed by remaining members. They are expected to vote on every motion in which there is no personal interest, request items be placed on the agenda, introduce motions and resolutions, and attend all meetings. Candidates must be a registered Captiva voter.

During Jensen’s time on the Board of Commissioners, he served as treasurer, vice-chairman and chairman. His term expires in November 2020.

The CEPD, established in June 1959, provides beach erosion control for the protection, preservation and restoration of the islands’ beach. Its regular board meetings are held monthly at South Seas Island Resort Conference Center.

Anyone interested in becoming a commissioner should contact the CEPD office at mycepd@mycepd.com or call 239-472-2472.

Leave a Comment

We are interested in articulate, well-informed remarks that are relevant to the article. We welcome your advice, your criticism and your unique insights into the issues of the day. To be approved for publication, your comments should be civil and avoid name-calling. It may take up to 24 hours for your comment to appear, if it is approved.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.