Committee of the Islands Chooses Directors and Officers

provided to The Santiva Chronicle

Committee of the Islands (COTI) held its annual membership meeting March 20 via Zoom video and elected Edward Holden to a first term and Peter Walcott to a second term as directors. Returning directors are Christine Andrews, Larry Schopp, Barbara Joy Cooley, Chet Sadler, Maryann Bell, Carol Gestwicki and Jon Gustafson.

At its regular meeting on April 12 the organization’s board elected the following officers — President, Larry Schopp, Vice President Christine Andrews, Secretary Peter Walcott and Treasurer Chet Sadler. In addition to serving as president Schopp will continue to chair the organization’s Land Use Policy Committee while Christine Andrews will remain responsible for managing the website and systems.

COTI is a Florida not for profit corporation that was founded in 1975 by some of the same people who helped incorporate Sanibel as an independent, self governing city. Its mission then and now has been to ensure the continuity of good local government, protect the environment and preserve the sanctuary character of our barrier island community. Standing committees include City Governance, Environment, Transportation, Land Use Policy, Resiliency and Technology. Membership is open to the public and new members are always welcome. You can visit the organization’s website at which provides an opportunity to join COTI on line.

Leave a Comment

We are interested in articulate, well-informed remarks that are relevant to the article. We welcome your advice, your criticism and your unique insights into the issues of the day. To be approved for publication, your comments should be civil and avoid name-calling. It may take up to 24 hours for your comment to appear, if it is approved.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.