Johnson, Smith Win Reelection To Sanibel City Council

by SC Publisher Shannen Hayes

Holly Smith and Richard Johnson were overwhelmingly re-elected to Sanibel City Council by voters in the March 7 election. Preliminary election results show Smith and Johnson earned a combined 79 percent of the 4,342 total votes. Contenders Jude Sincoske and Troy Cobb Thompson earned 11 percent and 10 percent respectively.

“I am honored the Sanibel electorate has asked me to continue the work that we have done in the past four years,” said Johnson immediately following release of the preliminary results.  “We have a great team in place and we will continue to represent all of Sanibel as we drive recovery, resilience, water quality and quality of life for the family of Sanibel.”

Johnson has been a city councilman for the past four years, serving as vice mayor. Smith has been a city councilwoman for past four years, serving as the city’s mayor since March 2021. They will continue serving on the council with the three other members – John Henshaw, Mike Miller and Dr. Scott Crater.

The Santiva Chronicle will publish a full election article.

Leave a Comment

We are interested in articulate, well-informed remarks that are relevant to the article. We welcome your advice, your criticism and your unique insights into the issues of the day. To be approved for publication, your comments should be civil and avoid name-calling. It may take up to 24 hours for your comment to appear, if it is approved.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.