Important Voting Information

Lee County Board of Elections is sending mail-in ballots for the March 2 election on Sanibel. SC photo by Chuck Larsen

Sanibel voters have the opportunity to choose three new members of City Council from six candidates running in the March 2 election.

Two of the seats were vacated by Jason Maughan and Kevin Ruane, both who resigned to run for higher office. Mayor Mick Denham’s term expires and he is not seeking reelection after 16 years of service. This election gives citizens a line up of fresh, qualified candidates. While he is not an incumbent, Maughan is seeking a return to council.

The Lee County Board of Elections has started sending mail-in ballots. In the November General Election, 70 percent of the voting on Sanibel was by mail, with 8.2 percent voting early, and only 21.8 percent voting on election day.

Voting Deadlines:
Monday, Feb. 1: Deadline to register to vote
Saturday, Feb. 20: Deadline to return your vote-by-mail ballot through the mail
Saturday, Feb. 20: 5 p.m. deadline to request a vote-by-mail ballot to be mailed
Tuesday, March 2: You may hand deliver your mailed ballot by 7 p.m. to the Lee County Supervisor of Elections main office, 2480 Thompson St., 3rd Floor, Fort Myers; or the branch office, 13180 S. Cleveland Ave., Fort Myers

Sanibel Polling Locations: Open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Tuesday, March 2
Precinct 16: Center 4 Life, 2401 Library Way
Precinct 117: Sanibel Community Church, 1740 Periwinkle Way
Precinct 126: (Temporary Location) Sanibel Community Church, 1740 Periwinkle Way

Leave a Comment

We are interested in articulate, well-informed remarks that are relevant to the article. We welcome your advice, your criticism and your unique insights into the issues of the day. To be approved for publication, your comments should be civil and avoid name-calling. It may take up to 24 hours for your comment to appear, if it is approved.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.